Picnic 2018 Report

There were over 40 members and guests attending this years Annual Chapter Picnic at the historic KIRO-AM transmitter site on Vashon Island.  This year’s picnic included the traditional hamburgers and hotdogs and potato salad.  The food was prepared by Mike Brooks and his able assistant Leslie Albrecht. The burgers and hot dogs were barbequed to perfection by chapter chef Terry Spring.

Chapter Chairman Jon Kasprick made the picnic an official chapter “meeting” with announcements of upcoming events and reports from the officers that were present.

Jon announced the 2018 Arne Skoog Memorial Scholarship recipient, Nick Thweatt.  The scholarship was presented to Nick by Debra McManus-Skoog.

Jon announced the recipient of Chapter Engineer of the Year award to Marty Hadfield.

The new slate of officers was announced following last month’s chapter election.

Ryan Phillips announced Certifications for 2018, including Wilson Middleton, CTO; Ryan Phillips, CTO; Michael Brooks, CBRE; and James Dalke, CPBE 8VSB AMD.

The chapter had several guests from the Western Washington Regional Interference Committee (WWRIC).  The WWRIC is a non-profit organization that helps coordinate vhf and uhf communications facilities to reduce interference problems.

Jim Hatfield of Hatfield and Dawson Engineers made a fascinating presentation on the history of the KIRO-AM transmitter.

Thanks to our picnic sponsors Broadcast Supply Worldwide (BSW)  for sponsoring the picnic and contributing prizes for the event, and Hatfield and Dawson Engineers, suppliers of liquid refreshment.

Thanks also to the folks at KIRO-AM and CE Paul Carvalho, as well as Vashon Radio Historian Steve Allen for making the historic KIRO facility available.

Thanks also to Allan Freedman photographer for providing many of the pictures in the Gallery below.

Thanks also to Stephen Lockwood and Kent Randles from the Portland SBE chapter for their photo contributions.