Roland Robinson – SBE National Educator of the Year

Long time SBE Chapter 16 Member, Roland Robinson, CBTE, CBNT, CTO, has been named co-recipient of the 2020 James C. Wulliman SBE Educator of the Year award.  The award recognizes outstanding service and excellence in sharing knowledge through teaching other broadcast engineers.

Roland has been an SBE Chapter 16 Member for 24 years.  He is an instructor of classes in broadcasting and video production at Bates Technical College in Tacoma.  Robinson has taught at Bates for more than ten years implementing an SBE-approved certification curriculum in his broadcast classes.

The curriculum was recently renewed unanimously by the SBE National Certification Committee, the members being impressed by the curriculum presented by Roland.

Roland also serves on the Washington State Emergency Communications Committee (SECC) and provides a valued service to Washington State broadcasters by creating and maintaining the complex Required Monthly Test (RMT) schedule.

Roland shares this years Educator of the Year Award with another long-time SBE member, Fred Baumgartner, CPBE, CBNT, of Elizabeth, CO.

The winner of the Robert W. Flanders SBE Engineer of the Year award for 2020 is RJ Russell, CPBE, of Middletown, DE. The award is presented to a member who has excelled in his or her career while furthering the mission of the SBE.

All the winners will be recognized at the SBE Membership Meeting and Awards Ceremony, held online on Sept. 23.

There is more information from SBE on this years awards at .

You can congratulate Roland in the comments section below.

4 comments for “Roland Robinson – SBE National Educator of the Year

  1. Jim Dalke
    August 5, 2020 at 6:08 pm

    Way to go, nobody more deserving!

  2. Allan Freedman
    August 5, 2020 at 7:34 pm

    Congratulations Roland !!

  3. Dave Ratener
    August 5, 2020 at 7:34 pm

    I wanted to add my congratulations to Roland Robinson on his educator of the year award. This is a great achievement and award and it shows how much the Seattle chapter cares about educating other broadcast engineers, again congratulations to you Roland for receiving this award.

  4. Mike brooks
    August 17, 2020 at 11:47 am

    Well done and congrats on bringing up the next generation of broadcasting pros!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.